Time limit for your Personal Injury Claims
Time limit to file a personal injury claim in Georgia
If you have been injured in an accident in Georgia because of someone else’s negligence, you would have a specified time to file a Georgia personal injury claim. This is called a statute of limitations. The Georgia statute of limitations to file a Georgia personal injury claim is 2 years from when the injury occurred.
This means is that, once you have suffered a personal injury in Georgia, you will have 2 years from the date of that injury to file a lawsuit. If you do not file a lawsuit within that time, you may no longer be eligible to claim damages.
There are limited exceptions to this rule, such as if the defendant driver was issued a traffic citation. This may extend the 2 year statute of limitations.
If you are concerned about how the statute of limitations will affect your personal injury claim which occurred in Georgia, contact the experienced attorneys at the Okeke Law Firm, P.C. now for legal assistance.
Auto accident injuries can have devastating consequences on the injured and his dependants. The injured has the rights that the insurance companies cannot ignore. While the insurance companies have a team of lawyers working on their side, shouldn’t you have experienced legal representation fighting for your best interests?
Before giving any written/recorded statements about your injuries and/or accepting any money settlement offer from the insurance companies, contact the Okeke Law Firm, P.C. now for legal assistance – 404-403-4487